Getting You The Compensation You Deserve

Group Photo

McArthur Tradition of Excellence

On Behalf of | Jun 7, 2022 | Firm News |

Katherine L. McArthur, founder and owner of the McArthur Law Firm, is the recipient of the Tradition of Excellence Award for Plaintiff’s practice for the State Bar of Georgia.

Kathy has been a member of the State Bar of Georgia practicing on the Plaintiff’s side for nearly 42 years.  She unintentionally, but innately, blazed the trail for female trial attorneys as lead counsel, with record verdicts in several counties and a number of multi-million dollar verdicts in the arenas of car and truck wrecks, premises liability, and medical malpractice.

Over the course of her career, she has received numerous awards and recognitions for her outstanding achievements in the practice of law, including most recently being named one of the Top 10 Lawyers in Georgia by Super Lawyers Magazine for each of 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022.  In addition to her numerous achievements in practice, Kathy has served as President of the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) Georgia Chapter, President of the William Augustus Bootle American Inn of Court, and a Special Master for Disciplinary Matters for the State Bar of Georgia.  Kathy dedicated years of service to Girl Scouts of Middle Georgia as the troop leader for both of her daughters’ troops, from Brownies through the receipt of their Gold Awards as Senior Girl Scouts. Kathy also serves on the board of Middle Georgia Justice, a group that provides free legal services on civil matters to individuals who cannot afford a lawyer, and is currently serving as the founder and co-chair of the Women in Unity group, comprised of 16 community-oriented women, half of whom are Caucasian and half of whom are African American, who are committed to initiatives that support the advancement of minority men and women in Middle Georgia, state-wide, and beyond.

The Tradition of Excellence Award is presented to four members of the State Bar each year to recognize outstanding lawyers and judges who have 20 years of achievement as a Trial Lawyer, General Practitioner or Judge and have made significant contributions to CLE or Bar activities, have a strong record of community service, and have a personal commitment to excellence.

The award will be formally awarded at the State Bar’s Annual Meeting on June 3, 2022.